This article will be about everything you need to know about Michigan legalized weed, from the laws and legality of it to the difference between recreational marijuana and medical marijuana, how new dispensaries will affect the current industry, and so much more. This article is going to cover everything you need to know!
Michigan legalized weed on November 6th, 2018. Now that voters have approved it, let’s look at what happened in just one day. From retail prices and legal advertising methods to limited hours of operation for businesses that sell it, this article covers all the bases regarding Michigan Marijuana Laws.
History of Michigan Legalized Weed
On November 6th, 2018, the State of Michigan voters passed a proposal allowing people 21 years old and above to purchase, possess and consume marijuana. The measure was called Proposal 1 and will be effective immediately. The State’s laws regarding recreational marijuana also allow local governments to limit or ban marijuana businesses from opening within their boundaries if they see fit. However, local municipalities can’t legally prohibit adults from using or possessing cannabis.
Proposal 1 was created by a popular campaign that collected over 300,000 signatures for the petition drive to put it on the ballot. The proposal was called the Michigan Regulation and Taxation of Marihuana Act.
What Are The Benefits Of Michigan Legalized Weed?
1. Michigan residents would no longer need to worry about breaking the law if they choose to smoke a joint
According to the laws, as long as you’re 21 years or older, you can now possess 2.5 ounces of marijuana on your person. Unused marijuana stored in a container at home can be stored up to 10 ounces of usable marijuana and grow up to 12 plants at home. Michigan legalized weed means that once the measure goes into effect, adults who are 21 and over will be able to legally buy marijuana-related products from businesses licensed by the city or StateState.
2. Michigan residents will no longer need to worry about being arrested for possession of marijuana
Selling and possessing marijuana will remain crimes, but as long as you are 21 years or older and you have 2.5 ounces or less of recreational marijuana. The cops won’t arrest you. Being caught with a small amount of marijuana means that the minimum fine you’d have to pay is $25, whereas if it were more than 2.5 ounces. You’d have to pay a minimum $100 fine plus court costs. On the other hand, smoking marijuana in public places like restaurants or bars could become prohibited if your local laws say so.
3. It could reduce the number of illegal drugs that enter Michigan
The State of Michigan has been a key producer of illegal marijuana, known as “black market marijuana,” for years. According to the Drug Enforcement Administration, Michigan is one of the largest producers of domestically grown marijuana in America. Because of this, Michigan legalized recreational weed may help stop black market marijuana from entering the State, providing jobs and also helping local communities by providing more tax revenue.
4. Michigan residents can buy marijuana from a licensed business
Currently, there are a limited number of licenses given to businesses. Once the measure goes into effect, Michigan residents can buy marijuana products from dispensaries licensed to purchase recreational marijuana. The StateState expects these businesses to pay millions in taxes and fees during the first few years of running operations.
5. Marijuana sales could bring in hundreds of millions in new tax revenue
As mentioned, the State of Michigan expects a windfall in tax revenues once they start recreational marijuana sales. Sales taxes on recreational marijuana should bring in an estimated $101.1 million during the first year of availability. The StateState will receive an additional $202.3 million in tax revenue from sales during the following three years.
What Is The Difference Between Recreational And Medical Marijuana?
Recreational marijuana is a term used to define legal cannabis for people 21 years and older in Michigan. The law also allows people to grow up to 12 plants for personal use. According to the State of Michigan, recreational marijuana will be taxed at a rate of 10% or more. This tax will cover costs for regulating and enforcing the laws regarding recreational or medical marijuana.
Medical marijuana is any cannabis used to treat symptoms of certain chronic diseases like cancer, epilepsy, glaucoma, and so much more. Medical marijuana can only be bought from an authorized dispensary with the required licensing from local officials in the State of Michigan.
Recreational and medical marijuana are treated in separate ways by law enforcement. Medical marijuana comes with a higher degree of legal protection from the State of Michigan and is still considered legal even if used for recreational purposes. Recreational marijuana has yet to be defined for specific restrictions by the State of Michigan.
Michigan Legalized Weed Dispensary Laws
According to new state laws, medical and recreational cannabis will be sold through a system called “licensed retail operations” or “dispensaries.” The licensing system controls how many marijuana businesses can do business in cities or towns under local control. Licensed retailers, on the other hand, are businesses that have been authorized to sell weed-related products.
The new law states that the StateState can issue 10 different types of licenses. Including Class A or the grower license, Class B or the processing license, Class C or the dispensary license, and so on. Businesses like marijuana dispensaries will need to apply for a license with their local city before they can begin operations as a cannabis business. These local governments can then go on to decide whether or not to approve such marijuana businesses that are based in their jurisdiction.
How Can You Get A Michigan Legalized Weed Dispensary License?
According to the new laws, all businesses approved for a dispensary license must pay an application fee of $7,500. These licenses will only be issued to business owners at least 21 years old. In addition, all cannabis business people need a $200,000 permit fee that covers costs for annual inspections and audits. The State of Michigan will also collect a 6% sales tax on top of any other state taxes collected on marijuana sales. This tax revenue is expected to be more than $100 million annually in the first few years of operation.
To qualify for these licenses, the business owners must also obtain a state permit already issued by the State of Michigan. In addition, all cannabis licensees must keep complete records of their operations. This includes information like how much tax and fees they paid per year and which products they sold yearly.
The State’sState’s move to Michigan legalized weed is a shock to many in the cannabis community who thought it would take much longer for Michigan to legalize pot for adult consumers. After all, Detroit has already legalized recreational weed and allowed the sale of marijuana-infused food items. However, the State of Michigan was not happy with this and has since passed a law that will make it legal for all adults to buy and consume recreational marijuana once it goes into effect next year.
Of course, as with any major change, there will likely be more developments and changes over the coming months as the states that have legalized recreational weed continue to ensure they are doing everything right in their implementation.